Joe Driscoll & Sekou Kouyate

On one side there is Sekou Kouyate, from Conakry in Guinea, a Kora virtuoso of international renown and member of Ba Cissoko’s band. On the other, Joe Driscoll, an irrepressible singer from New York with a rich experience in hip hop, folk and reggae music. Together they release Faya, an album as eclectic as full of energy, which proves that music has no boundary.

Read More

Two identities. This surprising duo was born from the meeting of Joe Driscoll and Sekou Kouyate in South of France on the occasion of a collaboration for the « Nuit Métis » festival. The bass, the guitar and the drums give to the project a strong and pure rhythmical basis, on which the two musicians develop a soulful and groovy musical universe. The electro-acoustic melodies of the Kora perfectly match with Joe Driscoll’s rich and incomparable rhyming and the beautiful voice of Sekou Kouyate.

 A transcultural adventure. English and Soussou melt together on powerful rock, Afrobeat, reggae-funk and African grooves, supported by a lyrical and sharpened Kora. Faya consists of beautiful catchy chorus, a fantastic positive and unconventional energy, a high spirit of freedom and open-mindedness, and a constant dialogue between voices and strings. It reminds of how Sekou and Joe master the art of improvisation and cultural mixing.

Their live shows are true moments of grace, where two generous artists bring together urban African and western cultures in a unique and out of time mix.

[youtubegallery]

[/youtubegallery]

Press

« An unlikely collaboration that works magnificently. » The Guardian ****

« Driscoll’s rapid-fire rhyming is echoed by Kouyate’s lightning fast Kora licks. » Songlines

« Faya is effective due to the very spontaneous musical approach of these two musicians. The Driscoll’s dynamic folk-rock, ragga and hip-hop is mixed with the fantastic melodies of the electric Kora of Kouyate.» Les Inrocks.com

« A beautiful adventure, beyond the simple invitation to travel (…) the two artists share the language of music and build a music where Kora, guitar, heavy groove of the calabash, and English and Soussou voices melt with African polyrhythms, blues, afro-beat, hip-hop, rock, and even reggae. » Mondomix.com

« (…) an amazing fusion between afrobeat, hip-hop, folk and reggae that defies categorisation. » Tsugi

« Joe et Sekou brought the Divan du Monde to boiling point, with the live performance of their first album “Faya”. An amazing and smart music that sounds even better on the stage. » Toute la Culture

« An album as electric as eclectic, between afro-rock and afro-funk, afro-reggae and afro-rap. (…) The temperature rises quickly! » RFI Musique

« An astonishing duo mixing rock, blues, afrobeat and African polyrhythmic beats: a unique sound! » FIP Radio

Contacts

Booking : Julie-Anne Chango – info@gingersounds.com – +33 (0)603616104

Joe Driscoll & Sekou Kouyate

D’un côté, Sekou Kouyate, originaire de Conakry (Guinée), virtuose de la kora reconnu dans le monde entier et membre du groupe de Ba Cissoko. De l’autre Joe Driscoll, new yorkais au flow ravageur et à l’expérience riche dans le hip hop, la folk et le reggae. Tous deux dévoilent Faya, un album aussi éclectique qu’énergique, qui prouve que la musique n’a pas de frontière.

Lire plus

Deux identités. Duo surprenant, Joe Driscoll et Sekou Kouyate est un projet né de la rencontre de ces deux artistes singuliers en Provence, à l’occasion d’une création pour le festival « Nuit Métis ». Sur une base rythmique solide (basse, guitare, batterie) et épurée, le duo propose un univers roots où les envolées électro-acoustiques de la Kora se marient à merveille avec le flow riche et endiablé de Joe Driscoll et la belle voix de Sekou Kouyate.

Une aventure transculturelle. L’anglais et le soussou se mêlent parfaitement sur un fond sonore où se confondent puissance rock, rythmiques reggae-funk et le lyrisme d’une kora mystique et incisive. Faya comprend de beaux refrains très accrocheurs, une extraordinaire énergie positive et ne répondant pas aux critères des genres classiques, un esprit de liberté et un dialogue permanent entre voix et cordes. Ce projet rappelle à quel point Sekou et Joe maîtrisent l’art du métissage et de l’improvisation.

Sur scène c’est un moment de grâce avec deux artistes d’une grande générosité qui rapprochent les cultures urbaines africaines et occidentales dans un mix hors du temps.

[youtubegallery]

[/youtubegallery]

Presse

« Faya doit son efficacité à l’approche brute, très spontanée, des deux hommes. Le folk-rock mêlé de ragga et de hip hop brut de décoffrage de Driscoll y soutient les élégants galops de la kora électrifiée de Kouyaté. » Les Inrocks.com

« Une belle aventure qui dépasse la simple invitation au voyage (…) les deux protagonistes, qui n’ont que la musique comme langue commune, affirment un son où les riffs de kora et de guitare, le groove sourd des calebasses et les voix chantées ou rappées en anglais et sossou, opèrent un syncrétisme entre polyrythmies africaines, blues, afro-beat, hip-hop, rock, et même reggae. » Mondomix.com

« (…) une folle fusion d’afrobeat, hip-hop, folk et reggae qui défie toute catégorisation ou description. » Tsugi

« Joe et Sékou ont littéralement mis le feu au Divan du Monde, avec la performance live de leur premier album “Faya”. Musique incroyablement riche et intelligente, simplement inqualifiable, qui sonne encore mieux en vrai. » Toute la Culture

 « Un disque aussi électrique qu’éclectique, entre afro-rock et afro-funk, entre afro-reggae et afro-rap. (…) De quoi faire fondre la matière tant la température grimpe rapidement! » RFI Musique

« Un duo surprenant mêlant rock, blues, afrobeat et polyrythmies africaines : un son unique !» FIP Radio

« Une collaboration surprenante qui fonctionne à merveille. » The Guardian ****

« Les rimes acérées de Driscoll font écho aux mélodies endiablées de Kouyate. » Songlines

Contacts

Booking:  Mounir Kabbaj – mounir@gingersounds.com – +33(0)6 30 87 24 72