KRISTEL

Kristel, it’s a crazy elegance coupled with the rage of a possessed singer.

Read More

When you come from Madagascar, one of the poorest and corrupt countries in the world, the abolition of inequalities inevitably strikes a distinctive chord… No wonder the echoes of the Western fights ultimately wash ashore through positive feedback. Down there, jammed in Africa’s backwater, feminism isn’t just about exchanging ideas: it’s about survival. A necessity.

Kristel was born in the country’s central highlands, homeland of the queens in the 19th century. And yet! Matriarchy is lagging behind… in the land of rosewood. A young girl: musician? The answer is NO. Her guitar-playing brother and dad already hold the position. If feminism calls for fairness, Kristel will earn her freedom fair and square through music.

She pulls off high school diploma by 15, collects one-night stands and music collabs. And states the obvious, while performing live: the crowd has eyes only for her, putting the frontmen on the back burner. Proof that sometimes charisma comes from nature more than nurture…

Joining forces with brother Benkheli and hubby Sylvano, Kristel makes her own way. Turns the tables with a spontaneous and high-voltage pop. The kind of pop branded with hot iron, one that doesn’t go into hiding. Pure heresy in the vicinity. A supercharged Malagasy pop? Ironic when access to electric power doesn’t outreach 23% of the Big Island.

Kristel dreams of England, without for a moment turning her back on her roots. And just like her music, even the male spelling of her name cultivates the ambiguity: tradition vs modernity, desire for new horizons vs longing for home.

It took the encounter with Gilles Lejamble (The Dizzy Brains’ producer) and his Libertalia-Music Festival, and Marc-Antoine Moreau’s sponsorship ( Jupiter, Songhoy Blues…) to help launch the rocket songstress. Mentored by Nicolas Auriault (Mano Solo, Zebda…), Kristel along with Benkheli and Sylvano are ready to travel the world with their very first EP, directed by Jean Lamoot (Grèn Sémé, Bashung, Noir Désir and Dominique A) and mastered by Chris Athens (Drake, Wiz Khalifa, Nas & Damien Marley, Coldplay, Erykah Badu…). Release by early October.

Poverty, bigotry, hangovers, one-night stands, political suppression, you name it. Whatever the tune, the musical sound of Malagasy tongue slides over and over, telling a harsh yet universal tale of fatality… For in Mada, it’s not only the sun that bites your skin: reality puts you on your knees! Hence through Kristel, it’s not only a feminism that puts itself on display. Also and above all, the future of a female generation is playing out, just as much as the future of a nation

Press

“A pleasurable disturbance of the senses accentuated by a sound effervescence, where clear lines of guitars very post-punk mix with funk basses on reggae beats.” – Libération 

“Kristel and her sweet rock carried by a voice on the thread and sometimes feminist themes.” – TSUGI

Contacts

Management: Libertalia: Pierre A Blanc – link8633@gmail.com

Presse: Mélissa Phulpin – melissa@melissa-pr.com

Booking France – Magreb/Moyen Orient: Ginger Sounds: 

Mounir Kabbaj – mounir@gingersounds.com

Fleur Tiollier-Ivanez – info@gingersounds.com

KRISTEL

Kristel, c’est une élégance folle doublée de la rage d’une chanteuse possédée.

Lire plus

Forcément, quand on est issue de l’un des pays les plus pauvres et corrompus du monde (Madagascar), l’abolition des inégalités possède une autre résonance… Pas étonnant qu’ici les échos des combats occidentaux échouent in fine en larsen. Là, coincé dans le ressac et cul-de-sac de l’Afrique, le féminisme n’est pas qu’un simple débat d’idées : c’est une survie. Une nécessité.

C’est de la région des Hauts-Plateaux qu’est issue Kristel, et qui a aussi connu ses reines au XIXe siècle. Et pourtant ! le matriarcat est à la traîne… sur les terres du bois de rose. Une jeune fille : musicienne ? C’était NON. Son frangin et son daron guitaristes occupaient déjà la fonction. Si le féminisme appelle à une équité, c’est bien dans la musique que Kristel trouvera sa libération.

Le bac évacué à 15 ans (!), la Malgache enchaîne les amants et les participations. Et une évidence, en concert : l’assistance n’a d’yeux que pour elle, reléguant les frontmen en seconde division. Ou comment le charisme tient parfois plus de l’inné que du métier…

En s’associant avec son frangin (Benkheli) et son mari (Sylvano), Kristel fait route. Prend sa revanche avec une pop hérétique localement. Spontanée et énergique. De celle marquant au caleçon, la gueule en avant et les origines annoncées dès l’perron… Une pop malgache survoltée ? Un comble pour une île-continent, électrifiée à seulement 23%.

Tout comme elle rêve d’Angleterre, sans vouloir renier ses racines pour autant. Même la masculinisation de son prénom entretient – tout comme sa musique – cette même ambiguïté : la tradition contre la modernité, l’envie d’ailleurs et celle d’être ici.

Il aura donc fallu la rencontre avec le festival Libertalia-Music de Gilles Lejamble (Producteur des The Dizzy Brains) et le parrainage de Marc-Antoine Moreau ( Songhoy Blues , Jupiter, Okwess ) pour que la fer de lance poursuive son bond… Coachée par Nicolas Auriault (Mano Solo, Zebda…) son premier EP est réalisé par Jean Lamoot (Grèn Sémé, Bashung, Noir Désir, Dominique A…) puis masterisé par Chris Athens (Drake, Wiz Khalifa, Nas & Damien Marley, Coldplay, Erykah Badu …). Kristel, Benkheli et Sylvano sont prêts à faire le tour du monde avec ce premier disque prévu début octobre.

Pauvreté, sectes, gueules de bois, coups d’un soir ou répression… Qu’importe la ritournelle, la musicalité de langue malgache glisse selon l’histoire. Racontant une fatalité pourtant universelle… Car à Mada, il n’y a pas que le soleil qui vous mord la peau : la réalité vous met à genoux ! À travers Kristel, ce n’est donc pas seulement un féminisme qui s’avoue, c’est aussi et surtout l’avenir d’une génération féminine qui se joue ainsi que le futur d’une nation.

Presse

 » Un jouissif dérèglement des sens accentué par une effervescence sonore, où des lignes claires de guitares très post-punk côtoient des basses funk sur des beats reggae. » – Libération 

« Kristel et son doux rock porté par une voix sur le fil et des thèmes parfois féministes. » – TSUGI

Contacts

Management: Libertalia: Pierre A Blanc – link8633@gmail.com

Presse: Mélissa Phulpin – melissa@melissa-pr.com

Booking France – Magreb/Moyen Orient: Ginger Sounds: 

Mounir Kabbaj – mounir@gingersounds.com – +33 (0)6 30 87 24 72

Fleur Tiollier-Ivanez – info@gingersounds.com – +33 (0)6 75 45 80 47

Julie-Anne Chango – julie-anne@gingersounds.com – +33(0)6 03 61 61 04