Maya Kamaty

From creole to misouk [in secret], to creole on the stages of the whole world!

Read More

Maya Pounia was born in Reunion Island and grew up between the agreements of her father, leader of the Ziskakan group and the tales of her mother. She has her scales in the midst of musicians and poets, lulled by the beautiful Creole language and the rhythms of Maloya, traditional music of Reunion.

The richness of her culture is revealed to her in all its immensity only when she arrives in Montpellier for her studies. It is then that the young student integrates as chorist the group Grèn Sémé who will perform in 2008 at the festival Sakifo.

Back on her island, Maya knows she wants to claim her roots through her music. On May 8, 2012, Maya Kamaty performs for the first time: traditional instruments (kayanb, roulèr) fertilize the field of acoustics, the texts oscillate between imagination and reflection, carried by a visual and magical language and the voice carries with it breeze and embers the blues mixed maloya

It is then revelation! The following year, Maya Kamaty was awarded the Alain Peters Prize and the Indian Ocean Music Prize. The group realizes more than 250 dates in two years, from India to Australia via Morocco and Canada but also metropolitan France and Reunion.

In 2015, the artist was chosen as the Favorite of the Academy Charles Cros and won the prize of the Best Feminine Voice of the Indian Ocean.

Today, Maya Kamaty takes the liberty of borrowing new paths with a new album tinted with electro sounds in preparation.

[youtubegallery]

[/youtubegallery]

Contacts

Booking: Mounir Kabbaj – mounir@gingersounds.com +33 (0) 6 30 87 24 72

Management: Alexandre Lacombe – alex@justlookingproductions.com

Maya Kamaty

Du créole en misouk [en cachette], au créole sur les scènes du monde entier !

Lire plus

Maya Pounia nait à la Réunion et grandit entre les accords de son père, leader du groupe Ziskakan et les contes de sa mère. Elle fait ses gammes au milieu des musiciens et des poètes, bercée par la belle langue créole et les rythmes du Maloya, musique traditionnelle de la Réunion.

La richesse de sa culture ne se révèle à elle dans toute son immensité que lorsqu’elle arrive à Montpellier pour ses études. C’est alors que la jeune étudiante intègre en tant que choriste le groupe Grèn Sémé qui se produira en 2008 au festival Sakifo.

De retour sur son île, Maya sait qu’elle veut revendiquer ses racines au travers de sa musique. Le 8 mars 2012, Maya Kamaty se produit pour la première fois : les instruments traditionnels (kayanb, roulèr) fécondent le champ de l’acoustique, les textes oscillent entre imaginaire et réflexion, portés par une langue imagée et magique et la voix emporte en brise et en braise le blues métissé de maloya

C’est alors la révélation ! L’année suivante, Maya Kamaty obtient le Prix Alain Peters et le Prix des Musiques de l’océan Indien. Le groupe réalise plus de 250 dates en deux ans, de l’Inde à l’Australie en passant par le Maroc et le Canada mais aussi la France métropolitaine et la Réunion.

En 2015, l’artiste est désignée Coup de cœur de l’Académie Charles Cros et emporte le prix de la Meilleure Voix Féminine de l’océan indien.

Aujourd’hui, Maya Kamaty prend la liberté d’emprunter de nouveaux chemins avec un nouvel album tinté de sons électro en préparation.

 

Contacts

Booking: Mounir Kabbaj – mounir@gingersounds.com +33 (0) 6 30 87 24 72

Management: Alexandre Lacombe – alex@justlookingproductions.com