Özlem Bulut

When you first encounter Ôzlem Bulut’s captivating gaze, don’t be too disturbed by the playful and maliscious twinkle in her eyes. Her expressive face and childlike charm compliment the raw power of her voice and lyrical singing, propelling the traditional melodies of Anatolia towards new and unforeseen horizons. Her new project, “Aşk“ (or “Love“ in Turkish), is the result of Bulut’s strong desire to mix genres and the various influences, both traditional and modern, that have thus far marked this young Turkish singer’s musical journey.

Read More

Özlem Bulut. Born in 1982 in a small village in Eastern Turkey, Özlem Bulut grew up immersed in the sounds of traditional Anatolian music. This would inevitably greatly impact her interpretation of jazz music later on.
At the age of 15 she began studying Operatic singing in Mersin and then in Istanbul. In 2006 she received a scholarhip to study with the Vienna State Opera, the Opera Bastille in Paris and the Vienna Volksoper, where she has remained as a key singer ever since.
In 2008, Özlem Bulut founded the “Özlem Bulut Band.” Today the ensemble is complete with Marco Annau as composer and pianist, and together they develop a jazzy musical universe where lyrical singing and oriental rhythms and melodies are subtly and compellingly intertwined.

Aşk. Her first album, “Bulut,“ appeared in 2011 and her second, Aşk, was released in Astria in March of 2014. The latter entered the World Music Charts Europe at number 13 in October, 2014. Catchy choruses and lively oriental rhythms are enriched by profound jazzy improvisations and Özlem’s powerful and virtuosic voice.
Founded in 2008, the band immediately won several awards such as the Development and Audience Prize at the Austrian World Music Contest, which marked the beginning of Bulut’s international career. She was also the recipient of the MIA-Award in 2013.
Özlem Bulut represents oriental-jazz at its best. Fusing jazz, pop and soul elements with her own oriental touch, the Özlem Bulut Band revolutionizes traditional Anatolian music, creating a whole new sound, both timeless and extremely personal.
With this project, Özlem Bulut succeeds in reframing the conventional picture of oriental music, bringing together elements from the East and the West while portraying the beauty and providing a new understanding of the Turkish language.

[youtubegallery]

[/youtubegallery]

Press

« A clear, bright and charming voice(…). Ask (« love »), is a pop-oriental album open to jazz (…), full of mischievousness and tenderness. » Télérama

« The young Kurdish singer releases « Ask », an album where traditional melodies from Anatolia are turned into a very modern and lyrical mix of jazz and pop music. » FIP Radio

« The voice of Özlem Bulut is fascinating, expressive and has a strong character.» Alpen

« A strong, rich and fascinating album that can be played nonstop. » Music Austria

Contacts

Booking : Julie-Anne Chango – info@gingersounds.com -+33 (0)603616104

Özlem Bulut

Lorsque l’on croise le regard d’Özlem Bulut pour la première fois, on est vite troublé par la malice qui s’en dégage. Son visage presque enfantin contraste avec la puissance et la maîtrise d’une voix rompue aux techniques de chant lyrique et qui propulse les mélodies traditionnelles d’Anatolie vers de nouveaux horizons. Son nouveau projet, « Ask » est le témoin d’une démarche artistique basée sur le mélange des genres et l’envie de cette jeune chanteuse turque de s’enrichir des différentes influences, aussi bien traditionnelles que modernes, qui ont marqué son parcours musical.

Lire plus

Özlem Bulut est née en 1982 dans un petit village de l’Est de la Turquie. Passionnée de musique depuis sa plus tendre enfance, elle grandit entourée de mélodies traditionnelles d’Anatolie qui auront un impact important sur sa manière d’interpréter le jazz.

Dès l’âge de 15 ans, elle s’initie au chant lyrique à Mersin puis à Istanbul. En 2006, grâce à une bourse d’étude, elle se rend à Vienne où elle se produit au prestigieux Vienna State Opera et au Vienna Volksoper où elle devient par la suite chanteuse permanente.

En 2008, elle fonde son groupe « Özlem Bulut Band » aux côtés de Marco Annau (pianiste et compositeur), qui développe – en quartet ou en quintet – un univers musical où jazz, chant lyrique et rythmes orientaux s’entrechoquent avec subtilité.

Özlem Bulut est sûrement l’artiste qui représente le mieux le jazz-oriental moderne. Parvenant à mixer du jazz, avec des mélodies pop/soul saupoudrées de sa technique lyrique et orientale, elle construit une musique intemporelle et particulièrement originale.

Fondé en 2008, le groupe débute par une formation légère mais gagne très rapidement de nombreux prix, comme, notamment, le Development and Audience Prize au Austrian World Music Contest, qui marque le début de sa carrière internationale.

Après un premier album « Bulut » sorti en 2011, Özlem sort « Ask » en Mars 2014 qui se place à la 13ème place des World Music Charts Europe en Octobre 2014. Cet album est parsemé de belles envolées lyriques mêlées à des rythmes orientaux enrichis d’improvisations jazzy, le tout porté par la virtuosité et la puissance de la voix d’Özlem Bulut.

Basé sur le mélange des genres, ce projet a pour objectifs de casser l’image conventionnelle de la musique orientale, et de promouvoir la beauté de la langue Turque en l’ouvrant à de nouvelles influences musicales et culturelles.

Presse

« Claire et limpide, joliment nuancée, la voix possède un charme certain.(…) Aşk (« amour »), propose une pop orientale ouverte au jazz (…), traversée d’une fantaisie espiègle et tendre. » Le Monde

« La jeune chanteuse kurde sort l’album « Ask » et propulse les mélodies traditionnelles d’Anatolie dans une fusion moderne et lyrique de jazz et de pop » FIP

« La voix d’Özlem Bulut est fascinante, expressive et pleine de caractère. » Alpen
« Un formidable album, riche et fascinant, que l’on écoute en boucle. »  Music Austria

Contacts

Booking : Mounir Kabbaj – mounir@gingersounds.com – +33(0)6 30 87 24 72