Patrick Ruffino

Patrick Ruffino invented an unprecedented and evocative music, full of revolutionary influences, full of influences from Africa and the West with a strong, relevant identity.

Read More

Born in the 70’s in Benin, Patrick Ruffino is a bass player and singer. He grew up in the most funky capital of Africa, Cotonou, which is also the cradle of rhythms and vodoun worship. He learned to play a multitude of instruments, to sing and also to dance, but his thirst for discoveries and his immoderate taste for travel sent him to France in the late 80s. Very attached to his roots, he constantly nourishes us with his many returns to the country to deliver us an album with an incomparable groove.

 

Benin, a Burkinabe mother but also a Ghanaian grandmother, is a Beninese mina nagô (a dual ethnic group widely practiced in Nigeria). She is bathing early in an atmosphere conducive to the crossroads of all African music. But his great curiosity and his thirst for learning will also allow him to discover jazz, funk, soul and Afro-Cuban music. From 10 years he begins to sing then grips the bass of the bassist of the chorale not to let go. But he is also attracted by the double bass, guitar, piano or percussion. He plays everything, he listens to everything, he accompanies the greatest artists with whom he will sharpen a very personal style and a unique musical approach. A certain idea of ​​diversity and sharing.

In 1997, he founds the group “Fâ” whose album “Défi” will obtain several awards in Benin. Since 2002, Patrick Ruffino has dedicated himself to his solo career and will release the album “E Wa Ka Jo”, named in 2008 to the RFI Musiques du Monde Discovery Award. He is a tireless worker and has been involved in various projects as producer, composer, director, arranger and recently artistic director of the Amazones d’Afrique project.

NEW ALBUM «AGOO»

After more than 20 years of career between Africa, Europe and the USA and a very first debut album, he returns with Agoo, which could be translated as “let me pass”. A vintage funk-rock sound, reminiscent of the performances of high-life masters and early afro-beats, perfectly bearing his powerful and touching voice. You can hear the strength of the sacred percussions rubbing the luminous funk gimmicks and the sharp riffs of the seventies rock. The traditional rhythms of Benin are not to be outdone, they find a youth in pieces both accessible and complex.

[youtubegallery]

[/youtubegallery]

Contacts

Booking: – Fleur Tiollier-Ivanez – info@gingersounds.com +33 (0) 6 75 45 80 47

Patrick Ruffino

Patrick Ruffino invente une musique inédite et dans l’air du temps, évidente et révolutionnaire, gorgée de multiples influences africaines et occidentales avec une identité propre, solide et pertinente.

Lire plus

Né dans les années 70 au Bénin, Patrick Ruffino est bassiste et chanteur. Il a grandi dans la capitale la plus funky d’Afrique, Cotonou, qui est aussi le berceau des rythmes et du culte vodoun. Il y apprend à jouer d’une multitude d’instruments, à chanter et aussi à danser mais sa soif de découvertes et son goût immodéré du voyage l’envoient en France à la fin des années 80. Très attaché à ses racines, il se nourrit continuellement de ses multiples allers retours  au pays pour nous délivrer un album au groove incomparable.

 

Issu d’une famille multiculturelle, un père béninois mina nagô (double ethnie très répandue au Nigeria) du Benin, une mère burkinabé mais aussi une grand-mère ghanéenne, il baigne très tôt dans une atmosphère propice au croisement entre toutes les musiques africaines. Mais sa grande curiosité et sa soif d’apprendre vont lui permettre également de découvrir le jazz, le funk, la soul et les musiques afro-cubaines. Dès 10 ans il commence à chanter puis agrippe la basse du bassiste de la chorale pour ne plus la lâcher. Mais il est aussi attiré par la contrebasse, la guitare, le piano ou les percussions. Il joue de tout, il écoute de tout, il accompagne les plus grands artistes auprès desquels il va affûter un style très personnel et une approche musicale unique. Une certaine idée de la diversité et du partage en somme.

 

En 1997, il fonde le groupe « Fâ » dont l’album « Défi » obtiendra plusieurs récompenses au Bénin. Depuis 2002, Patrick Ruffino se consacre à sa carrière solo et sortira notamment l’album « E Wa Ka Jo », nommé en 2008 au Prix Découverte RFI Musiques du monde. Travailleur inlassable, il n’a cessé de s’investir dans différents projets en tant que producteur, compositeur, réalisateur, arrangeur et récemment directeur artistique sur le projet Amazones d’Afrique.

NOUVEL ALBUM « AGOO »

Après plus de 20 ans de carrière entre l’Afrique, l’Europe et les USA et un premier album très remarqué, il revient avec Agoo, que l’on pourrait traduire par « permettez-moi de passer ». Un son funk-rock vintage, qui rappelle les performances des maîtres du high-life et de l’afro-beat des débuts, portant à merveille sa voix puissante et touchante. On y entend la force des percussions sacrées côtoyer les gimmicks funk lumineux et les riffs acérés du rock des seventies. Les rythmes traditionnels du Bénin ne sont pas en reste, ils retrouvent une jeunesse dans des morceaux à la fois accessibles et complexes.

Contacts

Booking: – Fleur Tiollier-Ivanez – info@gingersounds.com +33 (0) 6 75 45 80 47