STAMP

Questioning our era through a perception which is at the same time really futuristic and deeply rooted in the current realities of our ever-changing world, is the ethic and intellectual musical objective of the Parisian band Stamp.

Five musicians coming from really different horizons, five distinct personalities with singular universes, unite their virtuosity and their sensibility to defend a rich music, complex to define and yet so distinctive, into this atypical formation.

Read More

 

In-between Ezekiel’s and Massive Attack’s trip-hop, Nine Inch Nails’s industrial rock, Guillaume Perret’s post-jazz and Mohammed Matar near-Eastern influences, as well as Faith No More’s experimental heavy metal, Stamp rejects all labels and definitions with a certain eclecticism, a vision that goes further than a mere musical frame and established genres.

With an unprecedented line-up in which saz (Turkish lute) coexists alongside saxophone, machines, guitar, keyboard, bass and drums, they push limits, break the usual codes, and create an hybrid music which is at the same time deep and open, mixed but logical, deeply French, that reflects the musical eclecticism which is proper to Paris and the Parisian suburbs.

After a few years during which the band went through several studios and stage experiences, they refined their line-up, they now offer a unique, conceptual album bearing the sweet name of “Posthuman”.

In the center of the band’s creative process, we can find the main theme of this album and of their live : « Transhumanism »,  this intellectual and scientific international movement which advocates using  science and techniques to improve the mental and physical human characteristics.

They question the latter’s benefits and limits through, for instance, cinematic historic references that take the shape of vocal samples subtly incorporated into the music.

Here, we can find extracts from « Bienvenue à Gattaca » (A. Niccol), « Ghost in the Shell » (M.Oshii), « Jacob’s ladder » (A.Lyne), « The holy mountain » (Jodorowsky), as well as some from « Videodrome » and « The fly » (Cronenberg).

In this connection between quotes and music, Stamp also mentions a few characters of the popular counterculture, like the scandalous Aleister Crowley or the enigmatic Alan Watts

On stage, they are five incridibly talented musicians, supported by a VJ, still in this spirit that links music and visual worlds, with splendid screenings which accompany a music that is so expressive and powerful. To be discovered asap !

[youtubegallery]

[/youtubegallery]

Press

« Stamp is one of those craziest projects, of these brilliant success which shows that we can link requirements and accessibility while proposing original or else, unique. » – lagrosseradio.com 

Contacts

Management : Mounir Kabbaj : mounir@gingersounds.com – +33 (0) 630872472

Booking : Julie-Anne Chango : julie-anne@gingersounds.com – +33 (0) 603616104

Fleur Tiollier-Ivanez : info@gingersounds.com – +33 (0)6 75 45 80 47

Photos

Vidéo

Présentation

Interroger notre époque à travers une vision à la fois très futuriste et profondément ancrée dans les réalités d’un monde actuel en pleine mutation, tel est le pari musical, esthétique et intellectuel de la formation parisienne Stamp.

Cinq musiciens d’horizons très différents, cinq personnalités aux univers singuliers, unissent au sein de cette formation atypique, leur virtuosité et leur sensibilité pour défendre un son riche, dense, complexe à définir et pourtant si identifiable.

Lire plus

À la lisière entre le trip-hop d’Ezekiel et Massive Attack, le rock indus de Nine Inch Nails, le post-jazz de Guillaume Perret, les influences proche-orientales d’un Mohammed Matar ou encore le métal expérimental de Faith No More, Stamp rejette toutes les étiquettes et les définitions par un éclectisme et une vision qui dépassent le simple cadre de la musique et des genres établis.

Avec un line-up inédit où se côtoient saz (Luth turc), saxophone, machines, guitare, claviers, basse et batterie, ils repoussent les limites, brisent les codes usuels et inventent une musique hybride, à la fois profonde et accessible, variée et cohérente, profondément francilienne, à l’image de l’éclectisme musical qui caractérise Paris et l’île de France.

Après quelques années où le groupe a enchaîné expériences studios et scéniques et affiné son line-up, il propose aujourd’hui un album-concept unique qui porte le doux nom de « Posthuman ».

On retrouve au cœur du processus créatif du groupe le thème principal de cet album et du live : Le transhumanisme du nom de ce mouvement intellectuel et scientifique international qui prône l’usage des sciences et des techniques afin d’améliorer les caractéristiques physiques et mentales des êtres humains.

Ils en interrogent les bienfaits et les limites à travers notamment des références cinématographiques historiques, sous forme de samples vocaux intégrés subtilement à la musique.

On retrouve là des extraits de « Bienvenue à Gattaca » (A.Niccol), « Ghost in the Shell » (M. Oshii), « Jacob’s ladder » (A. Lyne),  « The holy mountain » (Jodorowsky), ou encore «Videodrome » et The fly (Cronenberg).

Dans cette liaison entre citations et musique, Stamp invoque aussi quelques personnages fort de la contre-culture populaire, comme le sulfureux Aleister Crowley ou l’énigmatique Alan Watts.

Sur scène, ce sont cinq musiciens incroyablement doués, accompagnés d’une Vj, toujours dans cette réflexion qui lie musique et univers visuels, avec de superbes projections qui accompagnent une musique si expressive et puissante. À découvrir d’urgence !

Presse

« Stamp fait partie de ces projets fous, de ces réussites éclatantes qui montrent qu’on peut allier exigence et accessibilité tout en proposant de l’original, voire de l’unique » – lagrosseradio.com

Contacts

Management : mounir@gingersounds.com – +33 6 30 87 24 72

Autres artistes Ginger Sounds