Tamer Abu Ghazaleh

A restless and inventive performer and promoter of a wide range of music and artistic activity, Tamer Abu Ghazaleh is a leading figure in modern Arabic culture. The Palestinian singer, multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer has over the past few years collaborated in many music projects, released a debut album and founded eka3 (2007), a regional platform dedicated to promoting, producing, distributing, and touring independent Arabic music.

Read More

Tamer Abu Ghazaleh was born in Cairo 1986 to an exiled Palestinian family. He started singing and performing at the age of two, and composing at the age of nine. In 1998 Tamer and his family managed to return to their homeland to live in Ramallah, where he started his academic music education at the National Conservatory of Music (now Edward Said Conservatory). There he studied oud, buzuq, music theory, history, analysis, composition, orchestration and performance, under the supervision of renowned Palestinian musician Khaled Jubran. In 2008, Tamer released ”Thawret Ala” (Revolution of Worry), a collaborative piece of musical theatre that was performed by the Al-Tamye Theatre Group.
While he has been touring his own music throughout 2012 at sold-out concerts in Beirut, Alexandria, Cairo, Amman and Tunis, Tamer Abu Ghazaleh has been an active musical collaborator for many years. Projects include: starting the cross-genre group Kazamada (2010); working with Palestinian & Egyptian artists on Jehar (with Huda Asfour), Duo Buzuq (with Rabea Jubran) and Kalam Mazzika (with Salam Yousry); and performing on Khaled Jubran’s Psalms (2005).
Tamer Abu Ghazaleh is currently touring while producing the music of a number of talented Egyptian musicians. He is also one of the key members of the new pan-Arabic Alif Ensemble.

Mir’ah (Mirror), his debut album, was released in 2008. Recorded with a group of Palestinian and Egyptian performers, the record’s seven turbulent, entrancing and sometimes frenzied songs were written during a turbulent period of demonstrations, bombardment and invasion of Palestinian cities.
Composed during curfews, the album expresses everyday human emotions – love, hate, comfort, boredom, excitement – that we reinformed by the unreal experience of living in Palestine during that period.

Without a doubt, Tamer Abu Ghazaleh is the most innovative and avant-garde artist of his generation in the Arab world. Unclassifiable, sassy, and just as powerful on his albums as on stage, he opens the doors to the radiant and musically rich future of the modern Middle Eastern music scene, of which he is an irrefutable leader.

 

[youtubegallery]

[/youtubegallery]

Press

« Between his harsh vocals, skittish-which-turns-to-serious melody, flowing voices, energetic beats […] emotional bursts from his musicians, this uncategorizable show rocks. » Télérama

« In his third album, ‘Thulth’, this Palestinian musician frenetically brings together three decades’ worth of music and poetry, and not without political satire. » France Culture

« Tamer Abu Ghazaleh’s music is surprising, contemporary, audacious, and ‘cross-over’, reminding us of the originality of the band ‘Sabreen’. » – Le Monde

« Listeners who don’t speak Arabic miss out on Ghazaleh’s lyrics of acrid satire and sociopolitical comments. However they’re still spellbound when they listen to his music, which tells a lot about its intensity. » – Der Spiegel

Contacts

Booking : Julie-Anne Chango – info@gingersounds.com – +33 (0)603616104

Tamer Abu Ghazaleh

Performeur aussi talentueux que créatif, activiste artistique, Tamer Abu Ghazaleh se révèle comme le nouveau porte-étendard d’une culture Arabe moderne en pleine effervescence. Ce chanteur Palestinien, multi-instrumentiste, compositeur et producteur a collaboré ces dernières années sur de nombreux projets musicaux. Après avoir sorti un premier album en 2007, il fonde eka3, une plateforme régionale dédiée à la promotion, la production, la distribution et au booking de la nouvelle scène indépendante Arabe.

Lire plus

Tamer Abu Ghazaleh est né au Caire en 1986 dans une famille d’exilés Palestiniens. Il chante et se produit sur scène dès l’âge de deux ans, et compose ses premiers morceaux à neuf ans. En 1998, Tamer et sa famille parviennent à rentrer à Ramallah, où il débute ses études musicales au National Conservatory of Music (aujourd’hui le Edward Said Conservatory). Il y étudie le oud, le buzuq, la musicologie, la composition, l’orchestration et la performance, sous la supervision du célèbre musicien Palestinien Khaled Jubran. En 2008, Tamer collabore avec Salam Yousry et compose Thawret Ala (Revolution of Worry), une comédie musicale jouée par le Al-Tamye Theatre Group.
Pendant plusieurs années, tout en se produisant avec ses différents projets lors de concerts à guichets fermés à Beyrouth, Alexandrie, au Caire, à Amman et à Tunis, Tamer Abu Ghazaleh multiplie les collaborations artistiques. On le retrouve ainsi à l’origine du groupe pluridisciplinaire Kazamada (2010), collaborant avec les artistes Palestiniens et Égyptiens du projet Jehar (avec Huda Asfour), Duo Buzuq (avec Rabea Jubran), Kalam Mazzika (avec Salam Yousry), et sur scène avec Khaled Jubran.
Actuellement en tournée, Tamer continue de composer pour de nombreux musiciens Égyptiens, et est également un des membres fondateurs du groupe panarabe Alif Ensemble.

Mir’ah. Sorti en 2008, ce projet a été enregistré avec un groupe de musiciens Palestiniens et Égyptiens. Signifiant « Mirroir », les sept titres de l’album, aussi tumultueux qu’hypnotisant, voire frénétiques, ont été écrits pendant une période douloureuse de manifestations, de bombardements et d’invasions des territoires Palestiniens.
Composé lors des couvre-feu, cet album exprime les émotions humaines de tous les jours – l’amour, la haine, le confort, l’ennui, l’excitation – sentiments exacerbés par la difficulté de la vie en Palestine à cette période.

Tamer Abu Ghazaleh est sans doute l’artiste du monde arabe le plus novateur et le plus avant-gardiste de sa génération. Inclassable, impertinent, puissant sur ses disques comme sur scène, il laisse présager un avenir radieux et musicalement très riche pour la nouvelle scène moyen-orientale, dont il est l’un des leaders incontestés.

Presse

« Entre son chant âpre et ombrageux qui vire à la mélopée profonde, les voix flottantes, beats puissants et autres effets qu’il dégaine depuis son ordinateur, les salves rageuses de ses musiciens, son show inclassable est une claque. » – Télérama

« Tamer Abu Ghazaleh surprend par la contemporanéité audacieuse de sa musique ‘cross-over’, rappelant l’originalité du groupe ‘Sabreen’. » – Le Monde

« Dans son troisième album « Thulth » le musicien palestinien accumule avec frénésie trois décennies de musique et de poésie, non sans satire politique. » – France Culture

« Tamer Abu Ghazaleh, c’est le Stanley Kubrick du son (…) ‘Thulth’ confirme que ce Palestinien né au Caire est l’un des plus talentueux trublions du Moyen-Orient. » – Jazz News

« L’inclassable chanteur Palestinien Tamer Abu Ghazaleh pourrait bien être l’une des révélations de la rentrée avec son nouvel album ‘Thulth’. » – Trad Mag

« La scène alternative arabe ne cesse de prendre de l’envergure. Avec l’émergence du palestinien Tamer Abu Ghazaleh, elle atteint une qualité qui justifie son actuel rayonnement. » – Quantara

« Tamer Abu Ghazaleh est un véritable phénomène «musical» (…) [il] a fait fureur avec un luth qu’on n’a pas l’habitude de voir dans ce genre de concert, s’est baladé comme un ensorcelé sur la scène, improvisant parfois, faisant monter la cadence jusqu’à un seuil époustouflant. » – El Watan

Contacts

Booking:  Mounir Kabbaj – mounir@gingersounds.com – +33 (0)6 30 87 24 72