Love and Revenge

A modern and virtual artifact, a musical evening to be watched, Love and Revenge is a tribute to the popular kitschy idols of an Arab world passionate in its dramas and melodramas. Presented in surprising and hybrid forms are the biggest success stories of the Middle East singing scene: those of the Iraki Kadhem Saher,… Read more »

Read More

A modern and virtual artifact, a musical evening to be watched, Love and Revenge is a tribute to the popular kitschy idols of an Arab world passionate in its dramas and melodramas. Presented in surprising and hybrid forms are the biggest success stories of the Middle East singing scene: those of the Iraki Kadhem Saher, the Egyptian Souad Hosni, or the Lebanese Sadah.

As we travel through the musical extracts remixed by La Mirza, we will encounter few renowned faces, from the golden era of the Cairo’s Studios Misr. We will get immersed into the musical comedies inspired by Hollywood , made fabulous by the queens of dance such as Samia Gamal or Tahia Carioca, and by singing idols such as Leila Mourad, Farid El Attrache, his sister Asmahan or the young Oum Kalthoum.

Love quarrels, attempts of redemption, dramas of abusive marriages and tragic destinies are constantly embroided in these films However, the boldness, sincerity and fantasy imbedded in Egyptian cinema save it from the realm of the ridicule. It oozes a definite grace even in its strangest moments, like the one revealed in the Egyptio-viennese waltz-the highlight of Gharam wa Intiqam, Love & Revenge, the 1944 movie from which the title of the evening is inspired.

Press

“Something completely different and utterly compelling” The Guardian

“The golden age of Arabic cinema taken to modern day stage” The National

Contacts

Booking

Mounir Kabbaj

mounir@gingersounds.com

+33 (0)6 30 87 24 72

 

Naël Darwish

info@gingersounds.com

+33 (0)6 31 41 70 20

Love and Revenge

Artefact moderne et virtuel, soirée musicale à regarder, Love and Revenge est aussi un hommage aux idoles populaires et argentées d’un monde arabe qui se présentait joyeux et candide dans ses badinages, ardent et immodéré dans ses drames et ses mélodrames. On y retrouvera sous des formes inédites et hybrides les grands succès de la… Read more »

Lire plus

Artefact moderne et virtuel, soirée musicale à regarder, Love and Revenge est aussi un hommage aux idoles populaires et argentées d’un monde arabe qui se présentait joyeux et candide dans ses badinages, ardent et immodéré dans ses drames et ses mélodrames. On y retrouvera sous des formes inédites et hybrides les grands succès de la chanson du Moyen-Orient, comme celles de l’Irakien Kadhem Saher, de l’Égyptienne Souad Hosni, ou de la Libanaise Sabah

Au fil des extraits remixés live par La Mirza, on croisera également quelques visages connus, issus de l’âge d’or des studios Misr du Caire. Comédies musicales inspirées par Hollywood, portées par des reines de la danse comme Samia Gamal ou Tahia Carioca, stars de la chanson comme Leila Mourad, Farid El-Attrache, sa soeur Asmahan ou la toute jeune Oum Kalthoum, mélos ou farces…

Des films où, pour le plaisir de tous, on brode sans cesse sur les mêmes canevas : quiproquos amoureux, impossible rédemption de la fille perdue, drame de la femme mariéeà une brute et que l’honneur condamne à un destin tragique… Maladroits parfois, outranciers souvent, ces films possèdent cependant des vertus qui les sauvent comme miraculeusement du ridicule. Sincérité, audace, fantaisie : ce cinéma conserve une grâce jusque dans ses aventures les plus étranges, comme l’improbable valse viennoiso-cairote qui est le clou de Gharam wa Intiqam – Love and Revenge, le film de 1944 qui donne son titre à cette soirée.

Presse

” Quelque chose de complètement différent et de totalement convaincant” The Guardian

” L’age d’or du cinéma Arabe adapter à la scène moderne” The National

Contacts

Booking

Mounir Kabbaj

mounir@gingersounds.com

+33 (0)6 30 87 24 72

Naël Darwish

info@gingersounds.com

+33 (0)6 31 41 70 20